Creating Your Own Foam Stamps

I love making stamps… I’m sure many of you out there share the same passion as me when it comes to stamps.

Finally, I’ve found some time and foam to make myself some stamps. Before going into making foam stamps, I’ve tried carving rubber stamps. Carving stamps out of rubber takes more time and ‘eye power’ – scrutinising into intricate details and making sure every hand movement you make will not destroy it.

Creating stamps out of foam is not exactly a new thing but it still amazes me! It’s so simple and fun!

Here’s a mini tutorial of how I create my foam stamps.

Materials

House Foam Stamp 1

Procedures

House Foam Stamp 2

– draw your design on a sheet of foam

– cut out shape with scissors or pen knife

House Foam Stamp 3

– indent your details using ballpoint pen (alternatively, you can use the tip of a mechanical pencil)

House Foam Stamp 4

– adhere your foam stamp onto a clear plastic sheet with hot glue gun

– then use masking tape to stick the back of the clear plastic sheet onto an acrylic block

House Foam Stamp 5

Ta-da!

Ink pads used here are Versacolor Cube // White and Brilliance // Moonlight White

Notes

– the reason why I adhere my foam stamp onto a clear plastic sheet is so whenever I stamp, I can see where exactly I’m stamping.

– once your foam stamp is adhered to the clear plastic sheet, you can use a masking tape to stick the clear plastic sheet onto an acrylic block for better handling when stamping.

– using masking tape is better than double-sided tape. I hate having sticky residue stuck onto my acrylic block.

5 thoughts on “Creating Your Own Foam Stamps

  1. I love funky foam!! I used it to make quite a few stamps, must add them sometime soon, but a flower pattern, a Harlequin pattern and the ‘art journal’ lettering on my recently posted art journal pages :) I got a pack of foam from the pound shop, but it’s very thin so I might have to double it up!

Leave a Reply

